ENIGMA Transgender Persons


The goal of the ENIGMA transgender research group is to explore, by virtue of imaging-based mega-analysis, the underlying neurobiology of transgenderism.

The transgender group was foundedĀ in October 2017 and is welcoming new members.

Current Participating Members:

  • Amsterdam University Medical Center (Baudewijntje Kreukels, Sarah Burke), Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • University of Vienna (Rupert Lanzenberger, Rene Seiger, Georg Kranz), Vienna, Austria
  • Madrid National Distance Education University (Antonio Guillamon), Madrid, Spain
  • University of Deusto (Leire Zubiaurre Elorza), Bilbao, Spain
  • Hospital de Clinicas de Porto Alegre (Maiko Schneider), Porto Alegre, Brazil
  • University of Mashhad (Behzad Khorashad, Behnaz Khazee), Mashhad, Iran
  • University of California Los Angeles (Eric Vilain), LA, USA
  • University of Auckland (Eileen Luders), Auckland, New Zealand
  • University of Muenster (Dominik Grotegerd, Udo Dannlowski, Carsten Konrad), Muenster, Germany
  • University Clinic RWTH Aachen (Ute Habel, Mikhail Votinov), Aachen, Germany
  • University of Florence (Alessandra Fisher, Mario Mascalchi, Gioele Gavazzi, Stefano Orsolini, Mario Maggi, Jiska Ristori, Giovanni Castellini), Florence, Italy
  • University of Ghent (Sven Mueller, Guy T’Sjoen), Ghent, Belgium
  • University of Southern California (Arthur Toga), LA, USC
  • If you are interested in participating in this project, please contact the working group chairs:

    Dr. Sven Mueller Dr. Eileen Luders


    ENIGMA on social media: