Screen Shot 2015-04-16 at 1.19.47 PM

The ENIGMA MDD Working group is an international collaboration currently including 32 research samples from 13 different countries worldwide, including brain scans from around >3,000 MDD patients and >9,000 controls. The primary aim of our ENIGMA-MDD Working Group is to identify imaging markers that robustly discriminate MDD patients from healthy controls across many different samples using carefully a priori planned, standardized image processing and statistical analysis protocols. The ENIGMA MDD working group is chaired by Drs. Lianne Schmaal and Dick Veltman.

A list of participating groups (updated November 2016) can be found here

Click here to access our members page.

We are happy to welcome new cohorts at any time!

If you would like more information and/or are interested in participating, please contact Dr. Lianne Schmaal

 

Publications:

  • Subcortical brain alterations in major depressive disorder: findings from the ENIGMA Major Depressive Disorder working group (Schmaal et al. 2016 in Molecular Psychiatry), click here for a copy of the article.
  • Cortical abnormalities in adults and adolescents with major depression based on brain scans from 20 cohorts worldwide in the ENIGMA Major Depressive Disorder Working Group (Schmaal et al. 2016b in Molecular Psychiatry), click here for a copy of the article.
  • Childhood adversity impacts on brain subcortical structures relevant to depression (Frodl et al. 2017 in Journal of Psychiatric Research), click here for a copy of the article.

 

Current ENIGMA-MDD projects and the lead person on each one are as follows:

  • MDD Subcortical volume meta-analysis (Lianne Schmaal and Dick Veltman) – This was the first prospective meta-analysis of the group, but new groups are encouraged to continue adding to the results. Status: Completed. Email: lianne.schmaal@unimelb.edu.au
  • MDD Cortical structural meta-analysis (Lianne Schmaal and Dick Veltman) – This was the second prospective meta-analysis of the group, but new groups are encouraged to continue adding to the results. Status: Completed. Email: lianne.schmaal@unimelb.edu.au
  • MDD Suicidal ideation (Miguel Renteria) – Investigation of neuroanatomical correlates of suicidality in major depression that can be detected using brain MRI (e.g. subcortical volumes, cortical thickness). Status: Subcortical volumes Completed. Email: miguel.renteria@qimrberghofer.edu.au
  • MDD Childhood maltreatment (Thomas Frodl) – Influence of childhood maltreatment on brain structure in MDD and controls. Status: Subcortical volumes Completed, Cortical structures Ongoing. Email: thomas.frodl@med.ovgu.de
  • MDD Subcortical Shape Analysis (Boris Gutman and Sean Hatton). Status: Ongoing. Email: bgutman@gmail.com and sehatton@ucsd.edu
  • MDD Hippocampal Subfields (Philipp Saemann). Status: Ongoing. Email: saemann@mpipsykl.mpg.de
  • MDD DTI (Sinead Kelly and Laura van Velzen). Status: Ongoing. Email: kellys37@tcd.ie and L.vanVelzen@ggzingeest.nl
  • MDD Developing a common metric for different severity of depressive symptoms measures (Matthias Rose and Felix Fischer, Charité Universitätsmedizin, Germany). Status: Ongoing. Email: felix.fischer@charite.de
  • MDD Laterality (Clyde Francks and Tulio Guadalupe). Brain asymmetries in relation to case-control MDD status. Status: Ongoing. Email: Clyde.Francks@mpi.nl and Tulio.Guadalupe@mpi.nl
  • MDD Insomnia (Eus van Someren). Uncover brain structural correlates of insomnia severity in MDD and healthy controls. Status: Ongoing. Email: eusvansomeren@gmail.com
  • MDD machine learning (Dajiang Zhu, Paul Thompson). Status: Ongoing. Email: dajiang.zhu@gmail.com, pthomp@usc.edu
  • MDD Lifespan (Lianne Schmaal). Elucidating the association between MDD and structural brain alterations across the lifespan. Status: Ongoing. Email: lianne.schmaal@unimelb.edu.au
  • Cross-disorder project Major Depressive Disorder, Bipolar Disorder, Schizophrenia (MDD, BD, SZ working group leaders). Status: Ongoing. Email: lianne.schmaal@unimelb.edu.au

 

Current MDD member sites are illustrated below:

ENIGMA_Map_MDD

ENIGMA on social media: